In 2008 the Tampa Bay Rays had their first winning season with 97 wins. That year the Rays won the pennant, beating the Red Sox and made it to the World Series. There have been some impressive seasons by Rays players - Carl Crawford had 19 triples in 2004; Carlos pena bashed 46 homers and drove in 121 runs in 2007; James Shields had 11 complete games with 4 shutouts in 2011 and most recently Blake Snell pitched to a 1.89 ERA with 21 wins during the 2018 season.